College of Arts and Sciences

Department of History

History Faculty

WSU history faculty consider their primary mission to be teaching. All of our faculty, including senior professors, teach undergraduate classes. Our professors are excellent teachers, they enjoy undergraduate instruction, and they take that responsibility seriously. If high school graduates or transfer students are looking for a congenial atmosphere in which to study and learn, they can find no better place than the WSU history department.

List of Faculty by Field

Faculty Publications

Faculty Member
E-mail
Emily Anderson
Japanese history
emily.anderson2@wsu.edu
Robert Bauman (Tri Cites Campus)
American history and public history
rbauman@tricity.wsu.edu
Peter Boag
American West, the Pacific Northwest, modern America, the environment, and sexuality
boag@wsu.edu
Brigit Farley (Tri Cites Campus)
Russian and East European history
bfarley@tricity.wsu.edu
Lydia Gerber
Crosscultural studies and Chinese history
lgerber@wsu.edu
Candice L. Goucher (Vancouver Campus)
World history, African history, and Caribbean studies
cgoucher@vancouver.wsu.edu

Lawrence B. A. Hatter
Early America, Atlantic World, Borderlands history

lawrence.hatter@wsu.edu
Steven Hoch (Tri Cites Campus)
Modern Russian history, European agrarian history, and historical demography
steven-hoch@wsu.edu
Theresa Jordan
Roman and medieval history
tjordan@wsu.edu
Steven D. Kale
19th-century Europe, modern France, and postwar Europe
kale@wsu.edu
Noriko Kawamura
U.S. foreign felations, U.S.–East Asian relations, and modern Japanese history
nkawamura@wsu.edu
Robert McCoy
Public history
rmccoy@wsu.edu
Laurie Mercier (Vancouver Campus)
United States, the American West, the Pacific Northwest, immigration and migration, and American labor
lmercier@vancouver.wsu.edu
Sue Peabody (Vancouver Campus)
Slavery, freedom and the law in the French empire
speabody@vancouver.wsu.edu
David Pietz
China and East Asia history
pietz@wsu.edu
Jeffrey Sanders
Environmental, Pacific Northwest, and U.S. West history
jcsanders@wsu.edu
Jesse Spohnholz
Early modern European social, cultural, and religious history
spohnhoj@wsu.edu
Raymond Sun
Social history of religion, modern German history, Holocaust and genocide studies, military history
sunray@wsu.edu
Matthew A. Sutton
20th-century United States, cultural, and religious history
sutton@wsu.edu
Orlan Svingen
Public and United States history
svingen@wsu.edu
Jennifer Thigpen
19th-century U.S. history, women and gender, colonialism, and the West
jthigpen@wsu.edu
Joel E. Tishken
African history, world history, world religions
joel.tishken@wsu.edu
Marina Tolmacheva
Islamic civilization and Middle East history
tolmache@wsu.edu
Xiuyu Wang (Vancouver Campus)
Modern Chinese history, ethnicity, religion and nationalism in China, modern East Asian history, and world history
xiuyuwang@vancouver.wsu.edu
Ashley Wright
Modern Britain, Burma, imperial and
world history
ashley.wright2@wsu.edu

Photo: Ray Sun with students

 

 

Department of History, PO Box 644030, Washington State University, Pullman, WA 99164-4030
301 Wilson-Short Hall, Pullman Campus • 509-335-5139 • Fax 509-335-4171 • Contact Us